centered image

centered image

58 Thoughts Medical Students Have At The Start Of Final Year

Discussion in 'Medical Students Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jan 3, 2020.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

What do I do if a patient adds me on Facebook?

[​IMG]

1. This is it. I'm in my final year of uni.

2. How many years have I even been here? 5? 6? 7?

3. Did I even do a Bsc? At this stage, I don't know. The years have just blurred together.

4. Either way, I've been studying for way too long. People have graduated, got jobs, got married, and popped out their first kid in the time I've been here.

5. And I'm not even done. I still have one year left.

6. Most people will probably have at least two kids by the time I left.

7. Including people who are younger than me.

8. But at least it means I don't have to be a doctor yet.

9. I don't know how to be a doctor.

10. What am I supposed to do if a patient collapses in front of me? The ABC approach? I don't actually really get the ABC approach.

11. I feel sorry for my future patients.

12. My future patients whose lives will literally be in my hands.

13. I still don't know how to read an X-Ray.

14. I freak out every time I have to take blood from someone.

15. I can't even fill out a drug chart or prescribe medications.

16. I'm not ready for this.

17. But at least I'll finally start getting paid.

19. Even thought all my non-medic friends will be making loads more than me. Stupid NHS.

20. I cannot wait to go on elective and experience other health care systems.

21. And travel.

22. Mostly travel. I'll fit in a bit of elective on the side.

23. I really need to sort out my elective.

24. I don't even know how to do that, though. What's this FPAS thing that people keep mentioning?

25. And wtf is the Situational Judgement Test? After all these years of hard work, one exam is going to determine half of my application? This is bullshit.