centered image

A Physician’s Plea To Protect Veterans

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 7, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I’m a primary care physician at the VA, and I have about 1,000 patients. Maybe I was in denial, or just too much of an optimist, but it took me awhile to realize that COVID-19 was going to hit the United States so hard. I came to this realization about a month ago, when I started comparing the trajectories of the curves in Italy vs. the United States, and it was around that time that I started to lose sleep.

Technically, my shift (“tour” at the VA) is 8 to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, 40 hours per week. Of course, I pay no attention to that, because my guys are my guys all the time, and they’re my responsibility 24/7. (I do have a few female patients, about 10, but 99.9 percent of them are men, so I refer to them collectively as “my guys,” it’s an affectionate term and isn’t meant to minimize the service of female veterans in the least.) I never really “clock out,” and am generally processing clinical data for my patients in the back of my head most of the time – I’ll get ideas about diagnosis or treatment for a particular patient while I’m eating breakfast, driving on the interstate, in the middle of the night.