centered image

A Word Of Advice From One Chief Resident To Another

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jul 21, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Chiefs, remember, one of those interns is going to fill your shoes in a few years. They may model you in that role, so you want to raise them well! As a former chief resident, I have lots of pearls for those entering residency. However, what I will tell you now is different from what I would have told you then. I have since learned that there are possibilities to create the results that we want and not just follow the path we are told to take.

Recently, a former intern of mine — who went on to be a chief resident and subsequently a program director — tweeted that he received advice from another chief: “If you are unhappy in residency, you need to adjust your expectations.” He pondered that this suggestion was a mixed bag. Can you see both sides?

Residents, who is responsible for your happiness? Is it the institution, the program, the program director, the chief resident — or you?

If the bigger entity is creating a toxic environment that endangers your emotional and physical health, then simply changing your expectations and accepting what you are given is not the right thing to do. But if you expect that it is up to them to make you happy every day and you do not have responsibility for this too, I would call this out.

[​IMG]

1. If you go into residency planning to be perfect and do A++ work all the time, you need to adjust your expectations.

Many physicians are perfectionists and overachievers. Think about all those accolades mentors wrote in your letters of recommendation: “detail-oriented,” “goes above and beyond” and “seeks out more opportunities.”