centered image

centered image

An Un-Apology: A Physician’s Breastfeeding Isolation

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Nov 7, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

This article was written before COVID-19 social distancing recommendations.

I want to start off by saying that I fully know my breastfeeding journey is a success story. There are so many women who struggle with medical illness, latch issues, an unsupportive workplace, milk production, and more. I had initial struggles; but, largely, these were not my issues. In that way, I was fortunate. Mine is the story of learning to become unapologetic.

I am a physician at an academic internal medicine program, practicing primarily in the outpatient setting. During my first year as a new faculty member, I gave birth to a beautiful, healthy baby girl. I knew I wanted to breastfeed, and I knew it would be hard. I attended prenatal breastfeeding classes, met with lactation consultants shortly after my daughter’s birth, and was lucky enough to have a friend who had gone through this a year before me who allowed me to text her my random breastfeeding questions at all hours of the day.

From the start, my employer was supportive. They asked me if I was planning to breastfeed so they could block time between patients when I returned from maternity leave—and they did it, without me having to repeatedly ask. With all these things going for me I thought it would be a breeze to breastfeed for a year.

When I first returned to work I was so focused on reacclimating, taking good care of patients, figuring out how to do daycare drop-offs, doctors’ visits, and pumping in between patients that I didn’t initially notice what would become my biggest struggle—the isolation.

[​IMG]