centered image

centered image

Being The Angel Of Death During A Pandemic

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jun 27, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I was looking forward to March 2020. My boyfriend and I had a long-awaited vacation to Aruba we were looking forward to. Everything is packed, plans are finalized, and the world shuts down three days before our trip. Frustrated, we refuse to believe that a “virus” is worthy of shutting the world down. “What’s the difference between this and anything else?” “Who cares? It’s just a virus?!” “I am still going away; they can’t really shut the world down” were all things I said myself. I went out that St. Patrick’s Day weekend and was in an apartment in Boston with probably 50 others sharing drinks and having a great time. There was no concern. The pandemic didn’t exist.

I work as a rapid response nurse through our ICU. I went into work that week without a mask for the last time, probably ever, unbeknownst to me. That was the beginning of the hysteria. The fear of the unknown was starting to creep into the hospital walls, and talks of disaster plans were starting. Those “just in case” plans seemed so ridiculous. It humored me. I am a good nurse who routinely cares for sick patients. This won’t be any different.

[​IMG]

Come April, our ICU turned into what looked like an abatement zone. Plastic walls up around the nurse’s station, allowing for those in the “clean zone” to see the shadows on the other side, bustling around, banging on the walls, and trying to yell through their masks and over the HEPA filters, vents, CRRT machines, and cooling blankets when they needed supplies, help, or a sip of water. We thought, “This can’t last long,” “This is overkill.” But then our first COVID patient died, making us all second guess our preconceived notions around the virus.