centered image

centered image

Calling The Shots And Bossing Up: Retirement At 52

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jul 27, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

They say we should “work until we are old enough to retire.” What age is that? For some, retirement is at 65 years, and for others, it is never. As a physician, I guess I fell in the “never” category. I never thought I would hang up my beautiful red pediatric Littman stethoscope with a picture of Princess Tiana on its diaphragm. I never thought I would replace my prescription pad with a vision board, but here we are today.

I say this because, just last week, one of my “learned” colleagues declared, “As far as I am concerned, there is never going to be a better profession than medicine!” That declaration was in response to the announcement of my retirement at age 52. I am directing my focus on a big hairy audacious goal. One that literally found me, not the other way. I am going head-on and inviting fear and failure along for the ride.

I received his declaration with mixed feelings. Half happy that he was still proud to practice medicine, a career that I had lived and breathed for three decades, but half sad because medicine has become rather toxic and literally a noose around our necks for some of us. And sadly, for some of the finest physicians I have known, it led to toxic burnout (or, if you prefer, moral injury), and ultimately, suicide.

Not so long ago, my mantra was “Peds for life!” or I would chant that I have a mix of pediatrics and red blood flowing through my veins. Insinuating that I would literally die a pediatrician. I loved what I did that much! I still love it, but sometimes, not everything you love is good for you.

[​IMG]