centered image

COVID Tells Us To Have “The Conversation” Now

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 6, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Insurance companies require doctors to ask dozens of questions and click on carpal-tunnel inducing boxes during a yearly physical. However, none of those questions or boxes address one of the most important aspects of a person’s life, their death. So, as a family doctor, I encourage people to think about it, have “the conversation” with loved ones, and complete the paperwork.

I’m also married to a doctor, so the conversation is (relatively) easy for us; we have a lot of practice. But most people don’t, and in the current pandemic, it’s not something you can put off any longer. Now, more than ever, you need to have multiple conversations. Why?

It helps normalize the topic. Every family has members who stick their fingers in their ears and hum the Looney Tunes song the first seven times you bring it up. But, eventually, they’ll come around when they realize why it’s important.

Without the conversation, you give up control over the final act of your life. Every person, after reflecting upon their deepest held beliefs and priorities, can answer the question: “What would be your ideal death?”

Most people say they want to live a full life but not grow so old or ill that they lose a significant quality of life. Then they want to die at home, surrounded by loved ones. I have yet to meet someone who says, “I’d like to lose control of multiple physical and cognitive abilities, then die in an ICU with a breathing tube while a resident splinters my ribs with chest compressions and electrocutes my irreversibly dead heart.” Or, “I want to be tortured with dialysis and a feeding tube for weeks or months before I die alone in a nursing home.”