centered image

Do Physicians Feel Guilt And Embarrassment More Often Than They Admit?

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Sep 1, 2019.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]
    I was an intern, doing a rotation in the coronary care unit (CCU) of a large urban hospital. It was very challenging: The patients had complex medical issues, and my fellow residents and I were given lots of responsibility for their care. Still, I felt I was finally getting the hang of residency.

One of the first patients I saw was Mrs. Smith, a middle-aged woman who had come to the emergency room with chest pain. We admitted her to determine whether she had coronary artery disease that might lead to a heart attack.

Mrs. Smith was a kind, soft-spoken woman. Her daughter, Crystal, in her twenties, had inherited her mother’s brown eyes and hair. She lived with her mother, was very involved in her care, and made sure that we knew her full medical history.

Mrs. Smith complained of vague, diffuse chest pain, abdominal discomfort, nausea, and vomiting. Aside from a surgery several years back to replace her aortic valve, she had no previous cardiac history. She had a mildly elevated heart rate and lower abdominal tenderness. Her cardiac workup included electrocardiograms, an echocardiogram, and blood tests for cardiac enzymes; all were unremarkable. Further tests revealed an elevated white blood cell count and numerous white blood cells in her urine. This led us to suspect a urinary tract infection, so we treated her with antibiotics. Over the next few days, as we monitored her, the symptoms completely resolved.

Mrs. Smith had few complaints. On rounds, when we’d ask, “Mrs. Smith, how are you feeling this morning?” her typical reply was, “I’m feeling much better, thank you.”

But Crystal remained very worried about her mother. She visited every day, and her visits all went the same way.