centered image

centered image

Fertility Problems In Docs And Med Students: We're Not Alone

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by D. Sayed Morsy, Nov 6, 2020.

1. D. Sayed Morsy

D. Sayed Morsy Bronze Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

Shortly after agreeing to write about my struggles in trying to have a child during medical training, I wanted to back out. "I should wait," I thought, "I shouldn't have done this until I actually had my baby." It's easier to look back and reflect on the darkness when you're finally out of the woods.

Right now, I'm still in the darkness. And I'm not alone, especially as a would-be mother in medicine. One out of four female physicians who responded to a survey published in the Journal of Women's Health had been diagnosed with infertility.

I'm not yet a physician; I'm a nontraditional third-year medical student. I came back to medicine after having walked away when I was younger. Despite the persistent ticking of my biological clock, I found a passion to improve the lives of others through healing. I'm still (relatively) young and (generally) healthy, I thought. I can have a baby during training. At that time, I was also apparently quite adept at rationalizing the subtle changes in my body...

Many female physicians are surprisingly unaware about our inevitable and progressive decline in fertility. Research has shown that nearly half of ob/gyn residents overestimate the age at which this decline begins. Maybe our focus on identifying diseases in others blinds us to our own health considerations. My hope is that sharing my personal oversights, challenges, and lessons learned will help others to avoid the self-blame and isolation that I am currently experiencing.

Putting Off Pregnancy