centered image

centered image

How A Physician Breaks Bad News Is Just As Important As The Bad News Itself

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, May 4, 2021.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Medicine is an art. One can learn about symptoms, diagnostics, and treatment plans for various diseases, from textbooks and journal articles. It is harder to study empathy, compassion, and human connection from conventional academic resources. The art of medicine is discovered, acquired, and absorbed on the job by interacting and connecting with patients and their families, by partnering with them in their journey through sickness to health or even the great beyond.

I discovered an important medical ethics lesson in my first year as an attending. I am a foreign medical graduate. This means that I went to medical school in a foreign country but completed my post-graduate residency and fellowship training in the U.S.

[​IMG]

My home country’s cultural norms were out of sync with American philosophy and values. Paternalism in medicine was the established norm in my home country, expected and accepted by patients and families alike. The family bore the burden of bad news and kept the patient in the dark, with platitudes and pretenses that all will be well: “It is God’s will.” The C-word (cancer) was never articulated in front of the patient. Physicians were complicit with the deception. When it came time to break bad news, the patient was required to exit the room. Male family members, husband, brother, son, uncle, male family friend, were the first recipients of personal health information. It was their discretion, judgment, responsibility to break this bad news to the patient or choose to withhold the information entirely. Decisions regarding treatment plans are made by the family, with the patient usually blissfully unaware and uninformed.