centered image

centered image

ICU Nurse Of 33 Years Speaks Out On The Harsh Reality Of Corporate Hospitals

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jan 26, 2023.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I wasn’t supposed to hear this, but I did. It sealed the deal for me. It was one of the reasons I had to finally leave my true love: ICU nursing. After 33 years as an ICU nurse, I knew it was time to go.

I used to feel like I had a purpose. I used to think I was a dynamic part of saving lives in the ICU. I lived and breathed ICU. I was a charge nurse, a mentor, and a preceptor. I attended the AACN meetings, was the leader of the shared governance committee, was on the rapid response team (RRT), and obtained Level 4 RN, which was the highest attribute you could earn as an ICU nurse.

But as the years passed, I watched patients with multi-system organ failure come through our doors, usually the aged population, many with their own DNR/DNI papers. And I listened to the family members scream at us nurses and doctors: “Do everything.” Unfortunately, the theory was that we had to honor the family members regardless of the legal DNR papers … because families can sue, dead people cannot. And so we did. We did “everything.” The vigorous and fast CPR pounding on their brittle chests, hearing and feeling their ribs crack. The inhumanity and brutality I felt as we dishonored these poor souls. But we were forced to do so.

[​IMG]

The patients lay motionless on the ventilator, wrist restrained, turned, and repositioned to prevent decubitus ulcers. Their vacant stare of what truly was their hell on earth. Because this was not living.