centered image

centered image

Mindfulness Training Should Start As Soon As Kids Can Grasp The Concept

Discussion in 'Psychiatry' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Dec 4, 2019.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

An excerpt from Mind Bubbles: Exploring mindfulness with kids.

I am not a pediatrician. My training as an OB/GYN taught me to care for mothers-to-be and bring their babies safely into the world—and then hand them over to the waiting pediatrician. I am also a mom and mindfulness teacher, however, and have thought long and hard over recent years about when the optimal time is to start teaching mindfulness. After studying mindfulness and meditation for over a decade, I have come to this conclusion—the younger, the better. Mindfulness training should start as soon as kids can grasp the concept—as young as 3 or 4.

[​IMG]
    Stress, burnout, and their repercussions are epidemic within the medical community. Burnout can be the result of extended stress and leads to physical, mental, and emotional exhaustion. But stress and burnout aren’t limited to medicine. Stress starts early and is pernicious. Adverse childhood events (ACEs) are contributory, but let’s be real–life itself is stressful. Bad stuff is going to happen. As a teacher of mindfulness, I can tell you that many adults do not have the tools to manage stress, and the accompanying anxiety, depression, and other health issues just compound the problem.