centered image

centered image

PLAB 2 Experience From An Old Graduate + Important Tips

Discussion in 'PLAB' started by Egyptian Doctor, Jun 7, 2021.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

It is only to give some of the older folks some inspiration that I write this.

I graduated in 1988 from King Edward Medical University and have only practiced clinical medicine for the year of my house job in Pakistan. I then did an MBA and have been doing different pharmaceutical / medical device industry jobs since then. Having migrated to the UK around 11 years ago, I decided to move to medical affairs roles in pharmaceuticals. But the better roles require a GMC registration so after hesitating for a few years I finally took the plunge a year and half ago.

I started the PLAB 2 journey which was tougher than the part 1. The academy itself was torture with classes beginning at 10ish and lasting till11ish on most days with only 1 break in between. This was 15 days followed by another 2 days after a gap of a few days. With a gap of more than 30 years between my last contact with medicine I had to put in a great deal of work – along with my job and other family responsibilities – after the academy. I missed it the first time round. I retook 5 months after the first attempt and got through 14 stations in the second attempt.

People will ask for tips… my tips won’t be relevant to all since my experience and back ground was very different.
    • I had to study scripts and academy notes but also study medicine from a short textbook. I used 'Medicine at a Glance.'
    • I discovered that watching videos works for me. There are good videos on most subject on you tube. Don’t forget to search you tube.