centered image

centered image

Sexism In Medicine: Alive And Well Or A Dying Breed?

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 9, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Thirty-five years ago, as a first-year student, I (DWS) wrote an article for my medical school’s student-run newspaper titled, “Sexism in Medical School.” The article highlighted three examples of sexism:
    • In the middle of a pathology lecture, the professor projected a photo of a woman in a skimpy bikini lounging on a sports car to “liven things up.” He then showed a photo of a kitten, “So you ladies don’t get upset.” My classmates laughed; no one objected.
    • Our anatomy textbook presented the male form as the standard, with the female differences shown in boxed insets. In some cases, it left the reader confused about which aspects of the “standard” form were also present in the “other.”
    • Many of the tables of normal lab values in our physiology textbook were based on male figures — and did not offer values for females. They presented the male as standard, the female as other, and left the reader confused about the clinical implications of any differences between them.
    To put it mildly, the article was not well-received. There was no response from my medical school, and many of my classmates deemed me “supersensitive.” After extracting the yellowed issue from a box in my attic, I partnered with women from various career stages to grapple with the question: how much has changed in the past three and a half decades?

[​IMG]

Initial response to the article