centered image

The Gender Vaccination Gap

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jan 8, 2022.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

This year, I lost too many close and extended family members to COVID-19. As a medical student, I was stunned to see a virus take a grasping toll on my life and surroundings. It was frightening, to say the least. Throughout the period of grief, which I’m still experiencing, I’ve learned a lot and have become more knowledgeable. Unfortunately, I learned that there was a common denominator among those in my family and beyond who lost their lives to the virus. It was as simple as this: They were mostly males who refused the COVID-19 vaccine.

One of the biggest public health concerns is the vast percentage of Americans that still are unvaccinated. This has been an ongoing concern since the start of the pandemic. According to a recent survey by KFF, 3 in 10 Americans remain unvaccinated. When deciding to get a vaccine, many determining factors may be present. Too many, it isn’t as easy as getting the usual seasonal flu shot.

[​IMG]

So, what exactly goes into the thought process when deciding to get a vaccine? Many might assume it’s the health status: Are they immunocompromised or not? Racial and ethnic disparities may play a role and one’s political stance and opinions. Or, is it as easy as age? According to recent data published by the Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF), the older the person is, the higher the vaccination rates become. However, a major consistent determining factor happens to be the sex of an individual.