centered image

centered image

The Secret Life of An American Medical Student

Discussion in 'Medical Students Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Dec 25, 2013.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

“What are your hobbies?” asked a medical student interviewer at one of the top 10 medical schools in the country (according to US News and World Reports Research Rankings).

“Television,” I responded, as it was the first thing that came to my mind and one of the things I most enjoyed spending my “free” time doing.

With that response, it was as if all my hard work went out the window. It didn’t matter what community service or research I did or that I graduated Phi Beta Kappa from an Ivy League University. The interviewer’s face went blank. You would have thought I just told her that I sold myself for money to pay for school, or that I did not believe in the need for health care reform (the hot issue when I was interviewing that I was asked my opinion on at every school). I could feel her judgmental eyes saying “Television? Is this girl serious? And, she really wants to be a doctor?”

My heart started racing and I quickly tried to backtrack. “Well, I guess you can’t really call that a hobby, ha ha ha (awkward uncomfortable laughter, all while waiting for her frown to become a smile), I also…read!” Obviously, that’s the logical smart person hobby.

While I wasn’t accepted at that school (I’d like to think it was not because of my response, although I’ll never know for sure), this experience and my first year and a half of medical school really got me thinking: What is so bad with being a doctor who likes television?