centered image

centered image

The Sense Of Powerlessness And Being A Cog In A Wheel Is Now At An All-Time High

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jun 7, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Toward the end of my clinical career, I didn’t feel like I had control over much at all. The patient safety issues loomed large. We used ridiculous workarounds for broken processes. The constant vigilance to provide excellent care in a suboptimal environment was exhausting. I didn’t see anything I could change. Based on my work with physicians as a coach, I think that the sense of powerlessness and being a “cog in a wheel” is now at an all-time high.

While on an uninspiring stretch of road on a recent family trip, a realization came to me: There are many, many system issues over which physicians have little control. But physicians do have control over three things:
    • How they lead in both formal and informal leadership roles
    • How effectively they advocate for change
    • Who they show up as every day
    [​IMG]

Leading. Research has shown that the actions of physician leaders directly correlate with the risk of burnout in the physicians they lead. There’s a ripple effect with both negative and positive leadership behaviors. How you lead affects those on your team and across your organization.

Being a voice for change. Effectively advocating for change requires an understanding of the context and relevant needs. Physicians are perfectly situated to understand the downstream impact of organizational policies and culture on patients and colleagues. Yet seeing is not enough. Physicians also need sufficient bandwidth and energy to communicate and collaborate with decision-makers so that important changes are prioritized.