centered image

centered image

This New Discovery Has Just Changed Everything We Know About How Blood Is Made

Discussion in 'Hematology' started by Ghada Ali youssef, Feb 15, 2017.

1. Ghada Ali youssef

Ghada Ali youssef Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

The word on the street is that blood is a pretty important part of our anatomy. Staggeringly it is estimated that seven percent of our body weight is made up of the stuff. I’m no scientist but that sounds like a bloody lot!

We all know that it does crucial tasks around the clock, don’t worry, I’m not going to bore you with them all, this isn’t a biology class. If it were then there would be a shit load of complaints as I am by no means qualified. Although I did get an A at GCSE, HOLLA!

This article isn’t about the role of its plasma and cells, instead it’s to do with a brand new discovery that is changing everything we know about how the vital fluid is made. John Dick, a principal investigator, and his team from the University of Toronto, Canada, are challenging ideas put in place back in the 60s.

The researchers believe that blood is formed in fewer steps than once previously thought. Upending current thinking on the way all that red stuff is produced inside our bodies. The previous belief was that stem cells went thought tons of complex steps before finally becoming a white or red adult cell. But Dick and the gang say that that is all cobblers. They think the process isn’t as intermediate; it’s simpler and quicker.

The team analysed nearly 3,000 different cells from a whole bunch of volunteers of varied age. Dick said, “The whole classic ‘textbook’ view we thought we knew doesn’t actually exist.” They also uncovered that our bloody system changes between early human development and adult. Contrary to prior belief that the system stayed stable once formed; it is in fact two-tiered.