centered image

centered image

What Are The Worst Parts About Being a Doctor?

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Apr 24, 2019.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I work as a pediatric oncologist. I treat children with cancer. The diagnosis of cancer in a child comes as a shock to the parents. Their whole world slips under their feet. They go in to a state of utter hopelessness. I have to break the diagnosis to them. The initial counselling session lasts an hour but I doubt it if the parents are able to grasp anything I say during this time. Small children just cuddle up with their mom's, the teens know that something is really bad. Fortunately majority of the Pediatric cancers have a cure rate of more than 80 percent. But there are some cancers like advanced Neuroblastoma, bone tumors and brain tumors that have dismal survival despite medical advances. To tell a family that a child with one of these advanced cancer has a very slim chance of cure breaks my heart. For some parents I become the villain at the moment. ‘How can he tell this news to us’, “has he gone out of his mind”, these are some of the things which go through their mind.

[​IMG]