centered image

centered image

What Happens If In The Middle Of Surgery The Surgeon Suddenly Falls Ill Or Has A Heart Attack?

Discussion in 'General Surgery' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Mar 1, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

ba2375f4f3bf52de33e63d684362d1e4.jpg

What happens if in the middle of surgery the surgeon suddenly falls ill or has a heart attack? Do hospitals have backup staff who can take over?

This question was originally posted on Quora, and below are some of the best answers.

Answer 1 by Sarita Pandey, MBCHB, Medicine and Healthcare & FCORL, College of Medicine (2016)

I am a surgeon.

I was assisting a senior surgeon abt 5 years ago when suddenly i began hearing roaring sounds in my ears and lights went blurry. I could not focus on the talk that was going on around me abt the case and then i remember saying to the surgeon is hang on i'm about to faint... the anaesthesiologist apparantly caught me before fell flat on the floor. The next thing i remember is gettting ivi fluids and everyone in theatre was giving me a congratulatory smile,only and only when they heard that i actually was most definately NOT pregnant... they took me to casualty and had me investigated... turns out it was just sheer exhaustion that caught up on me while assisting.

I was in theatre after being on call continuously for 5 days and thereafter that morning i had travelled 600kms to be in that hospital so that i could be in theatre on time for that particular surgery. This was my patient and i was meant to be the primary surgeon but that day i requested senior collegue to please do my case and that i would assist.... hmmm it was a strange gut feeling i had that made me request this and everyone that works with me was surprised because this was the first time i had made such an unusual request.