centered image

centered image

What I Learned From Starting Medical School In January

Discussion in 'Medical Students Cafe' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Dec 15, 2019.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I graduated from an international medical school this past spring. I’m currently in the midst of a preliminary year as an internal medicine resident at St. John’s Riverside Hospital in Yonkers, N.Y. Next year, I’ll start my dream residency in anesthesiology at Brown University.

[​IMG]
    Like many physicians, my journey to medicine has had its share of twists and turns. But my story is slightly different than the others. That’s because I started pursuing my medical degree in January, rather than in the fall — an alternative track that typically isn’t available at U.S. institutions. That decision helped set me up for success in the residency match. I’d encourage others to consider starting med school off-cycle, for several reasons.

1. Spending time on a medical school waitlist can cause stress and uncertainty.

I applied to several U.S. medical schools — and was waitlisted at two schools. Summer came and went. When I hadn’t heard back by August, I realized that the chances of starting my degree in the fall were slim.

My situation is a common one. In 2019, more than 53,000 students applied to U.S. medical schools. Only about 22,000 of those applicants ended up enrolling in a U.S. medical school that fall. For the thousands denied admission, waiting an additional year to reapply could be painful.

By starting medical school in January, I began working toward my degree only a few months after I would have started medical school in the United States. To me, that made a huge difference.

2. Students who start in January are still eligible for merit and need-based scholarships.