centered image

centered image

Why An Apology Matters In Medicine

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Apr 5, 2023.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

March was Endometriosis Awareness Month, and my journey with the disease involved a medical error. The apology I received restored trust in my care, a pivotal moment I hope can occur between more patients and physicians.

Medical error disclosure to patients, where a medical professional reports and explains a medical mistake to a patient, is encouraged by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations. However, the process of disclosing a medical error and the physician-perceived benefit to patients varies. Although I work in health care, I was unaware of my rights to discuss a medical error as a patient, and how important a medical apology was, until I faced the issue myself.

In the summer of 2022, I endured unbearable pain when menstruating. While I had experienced similar pain episodes in the past, the progression never lasted beyond a day.

My primary care physician at Rush University referred me to get ultrasounds completed, and the source was clear. I had an endometrioma the size of a tennis ball on my left ovary. The cyst was large enough to potentially twist the ovary and tilt my uterus. Each menstrual cycle I had, the cyst was hemorrhaging and growing.

[​IMG]

Two physicians, a resident and an attending, signed off on the summary of the ultrasound scans. My gynecologist swiftly prepared me for surgery after a week-long debilitating pain episode in December landed me in the emergency room. My surgery was scheduled for the end of January 2023, and I was hurriedly planning everything I needed, from pre-op requirements to submitting days off from work.